How we create Zeitgeists

Every month, the Werthstein Institute reviews all current zeitgeists and discusses the newest trends in business, technology and politics. From there, we can identify potential new Zeitgeists, and discuss the overall state of the world’s capital markets.

We then prepare potential new Zeitgeists for discussion in the next Werthstein Institute panel discussion. Discover how the Werthstein Institute Fellows view current market developments, what they expect for the future and how they judge the Zeitgeists that are presented.

Zeitgeists are not merely descriptions of growth trends. They also entail one or more funds or a collection of individual stocks you can actually invest in, to take advantage of that trend.

These investment instruments are carefully vetted and selected, based on a range of quality criteria by our portfolio managers. They include a stock’s volatility, market capitalisation and liquidity. We aim to exclude penny stocks and steer clear of overvalued stocks. Where we use funds, amongst other criteria like a fund’s investment volume, we pay special attention to the so-called Total Expense Ratio (TER), which quantifies the costs an investment fund charges against its investors’ assets, thereby reducing their yields.

A Werthstein portfolio never contains more than 10% of its portfolio value in a single Zeitgeist at the time of investment.

Team of experts

We keep track of your investments and help you to decide not only what to buy, but also when to sell. Werthstein Zeitgeists are professional investment ideas. Ideas that help you build a professional, balanced portfolio from the Zeitgeists you believe in. Designed with precision up to the level of risk with which you feel comfortable.

Every month the professionals at the Werthstein Institute determine the current Zeitgeist, in order to better answer your financial questions. How is the world changing? What does this mean for my portfolio? What should I invest in? How much? And for how long?

We carefully select those investments which are set to benefit from a Zeitgeist. To that end we have designed a process which combines a detailed quantitative analysis and worldwide analyst expectations. Every month our professional team reviews every Zeitgeist, and monitors the markets. it’s simple: we keep you informed; you tell us how you would like to invest; and we stick to your wishes.

Easy to use

Werthstein was built for your smartphone. That way you have everything you need, when you need it. Werthstein combines visionary views on investment with professional portfolio management. Best of all it’s easy to use. Long-term Zeitgeists and current analysis are presented in crisp, clear videos and text. Once you are ready to decide, you can invest with just one click. We offer a flat monthly subscription fee independent of your investment amount. Our partner bank charges no fees for transactions, only a low custody fee. We make no money on the financial products you invest in – our only incentive is to satisfy your investment needs.

Open your account online and start building your portfolio today. It only takes ten minutes.

How you invest in Werthstein

Most Werthstein portfolios are likely to be invested partly in a number of Zeitgeists chosen by the individual investor and partly in what we call the base portfolio, which is a broad, highly diversified holding of global equities and Euro-denominated bonds.

You can choose a selection of Zeitgeists when you first join Werthstein. Or you can defer those selections until later, and hold your funds initially in the base portfolio. When you are ready to choose, we will swap a part of your base portfolio to accommodate your zeitgeists (remember, there are no additional transaction fees). You are free to add or remove Zeitgeists at any time, although, the Werthstein Institute will tell you when they think new zeitgeists are attractive and when existing Zeitgeists should be sold.

Whenever you choose a zeitgeist, we will provide you with a calculation of an optimal amount specific to your portfolio. You can confirm this amount, or specify another amount to allocate to this Zeitgeist.

Occasionally, we at the Werthstein Institute may also recommend that you hold on to some cash when we believe there is a high risk of an imminent downside in the financial markets.

Zeitgeists

Browse our currently available Zeitgeists and decide which ones you would like to add to your portfolio. You can do this by clicking on the Zeitgeists image. To read more about a Zeitgeist, click on its title.

Emerging Market Bonds

Better than no interest

Bonds from emerging countries like Brazil, Russia, Mexico and elsewhere are a major investment theme, a Zeitgeist. They offer quite an attractive yield, often 5, 6 percent or more, which seems reasonable, relative to their risk, at a time when interest rates on bank accounts are zero or very low.

What type of risk is there, alongside that kind of interest? There would not be direct currency risk, since this Zeitgeist is focussed on bonds denominated in (or hedged into) euros, not in the local currency of the issuing country. But there is credit risk. Argentina, for example, defaulted on its bonds less than ten years ago, paying back only a fraction of their value, and has only just settled a complex lawsuit, while Venezuela looks set to default soon. And even if a country does not default, the price of its bonds can fall quite a long way when investors get scared. That happened with Russia, for example, a couple of years ago, even though the prices later recovered most of their losses.

Robotics

Brains without hearts

Robotics and automation are one of the fastest growing parts of the world economy. Since the start of this decade the technology has advanced, allowing robots to move from being a specialised tool with limited applications, to become mainstream in the automotive sector.

Batteries

The Renaissance

“The factory is the machine that builds the machine,” says Elon Musk. The CEO of Tesla Motors is talking about his new Gigafactory, a vast production plant now taking shape in the Nevada desert. Tesla has long imported lithium-ion batteries from Asia, but to meet its target of producing 500,000 cars a year, it needs to build them nearer home. “Tesla alone will require today’s entire worldwide production of lithium-ion batteries,” the company says about its goals. The Greek word “giga-“, which means “billion”, has a number of Tesla interpretations, including the Gigafactory’s planned annual battery production capacity of 35 gigawatt-hours.

Want to stay updated? 

 

Subscribe to the free Werthstein newsletter

Wie wir Zeitgeist-Themen erstellen

Jeden Monat begutachtet das Werthstein Institut alle aktuellen Zeitgeist-Themen und diskutiert die neuesten Trends in Wirtschaft, Technik und Politik.

Davon ausgehend besprechen wir die allgemeine Lage auf den internationalen Kapitalmärkten und definieren neue Zeitgeist-Themen, die wir in der nächsten Runde des Werthstein-Instituts diskutieren. Verfolgen Sie, wie das Team des Werthstein Instituts aktuelle Marktentwicklungen sieht, was es für die Zukunft erwartet und wie es die präsentierten Zeitgeist-Themen beurteilt.

Zeitgeist-Themen sind nicht nur Beschreibungen von Wachstumstrends. Sie enthalten auch einen oder mehrere passende ETFs oder eine Sammlung individueller Aktien, in die Sie investieren können, um von diesem Trend zu profitieren.

Diese Anlageinstrumente wurden nach den Qualitätskriterien unserer Portfoliomanager sorgfältig überprüft und ausgewählt, darunter Volatilität, Marktkapitalisierung und Liquidität. Wir vermeiden sogenannte Penny Stocks und überbewertete Aktien. Wenn wir von Fonds Gebrauch machen, achten wir – abgesehen von anderen Kriterien wie dem Investitionsvolumen des Fonds – speziell auf die so genannte Total Expense Ratio (TER), die Aufschluss über die Kosten des Fonds gibt, wodurch die Gewinne reduziert werden.

Ein Werthstein-Portfolio enthält zum Zeitpunkt der Anlage niemals mehr als 10 Prozent des Portfoliowertes in nur einem Zeitgeist.

Unterstützung durch unser Expertenteam

Wir verfolgen Ihre Anlagen und helfen Ihnen, nicht nur zu entscheiden, was Sie kaufen sollen, sondern auch wann Sie verkaufen sollen. Zeitgeist-Themen von Werthstein sind professionelle Anlageideen. Ideen, die Ihnen helfen, ein ausgeglichenes Portfolio zu erstellen, das die Zeitgeist-Themen enthält, an die Sie glauben – genau zugeschnitten auf Ihre persönliche Risikobereitschaft.

Wir wählen sorgfältig jene Anlagen aus, die sich dafür eignen, von einem Zeitgeist zu profitieren. Dazu haben wir einen Prozess entwickelt, der eine detaillierte quantitative Analyse mit den weltweiten Erwartungen der Analysten kombiniert. Jeden Monat begutachtet unser sachkundiges Team jeden Zeitgeist und verfolgt die Märkte.

Einfach und schnell

Werthstein wurde für Ihr Smartphone entwickelt. Werthstein kombiniert visionäre Investitionsideen mit professionellem Portfoliomanagement. Und insbesondere ist Werthstein einfach in der Handhabung. Langfristige Zeitgeist-Themen und aktuelle Analysen werden in deutlichen, kurzen Videos und Texten präsentiert. Sobald Sie sich entschieden haben, können Sie mit nur einem Klick anlegen. Wir bieten Ihnen eine monatliche Pauschalgebühr an, die unabhängig von Ihrer Anlagesumme ist. Unsere Partnerbank verrechnet keine Transaktionsgebühren, diese sind in der Depotgebühr bereits enthalten. Wir verdienen nicht an den Finanzprodukten, in die Sie investieren – unsere einzige Motivation ist, Ihren Anlagebedürfnissen zu entsprechen.

Eröffnen Sie Ihr Konto online und beginnen Sie, Ihr Portfolio zu erstellen. Es kostet Sie nur zehn Minuten.

Wie Sie mit Werthstein anlegen

Ihr Werthstein Portfolio besteht neben Zeitgeist-Themen, die Sie frei auswählen können, außerdem aus dem so genannten Basisportfolio: eine breit diversifizierte Anlage in internationalen Aktien und auf Euro lautenden Anleihen.

Wenn Sie sich bei Werthstein zum ersten Mal anmelden, können Sie eine Auswahl an Zeitgeist-Themen erstellen. Sie können Ihre Auswahl auch später treffen und Ihre Anlagesumme zu Beginn im Basisportfolio belassen. Sobald Sie sich für eine Zeitgeist-Investition entscheiden, werden wir einen Teil Ihres Basisportfolios eintauschen, um Ihre Zeitgeist-Themen unterzubringen. Dabei fallen keine zusätzlichen Transaktionskosten an. Sie können jederzeit Zeitgeist-Themen entfernen oder hinzufügen. Das Team des Werthstein Instituts wird Ihnen mitteilen, wenn neue Zeitgeist-Themen seiner Meinung nach attraktiv sind und wenn bestehende Zeitgeist-Themen verkauft werden sollten.

Immer wenn Sie ein Zeitgeist-Thema auswählen, erhalten Sie von uns eine Berechnung der für Ihr Portfolio optimalen Summe. Sie können diese Summe bestätigen oder eine andere Summe angeben, die diesem Zeitgeist-Thema zugewiesen werden soll. Fallweise wird das Werthstein Institut Ihnen empfehlen, eine gewisse Summe Bargeld zurückzuhalten, wenn wir glauben, dass auf den Finanzmärkten ein hohes Abwärtsrisiko besteht.

Zeitgeists

Jeden Monat überprüft das Werthstein Institut alle aktuellen Zeitgeist-Investments und diskutiert die Trends aus Wirtschaft, Technik und Politik auf der Suche nach neuen potenziellen Zeitgeist-Investitionen. Außerdem besprechen die Mitglieder des Werthstein Instituts die aktuelle Situation an den Finanzmärkten.

Anleihen aus Schwellenländern

Besser als gar keine Zinsen

Anleihen aus Schwellenländern wie Brasilien, Russland, Mexiko und anderen Ländern sind gerade sehr „gefragt“ unter Investoren. Sie bieten eine recht attraktive Rendite, meistens 5 bis 6 Prozent oder sogar mehr, was auch im Verhältnis zum Risiko durchaus vernünftig ist, vor allem in Zeiten, in denen die Zinsen gegen null tendieren.

Welche Risiken sind jedoch außer den Zinsrisiken zu bedenken? Es besteht kein direktes Währungsrisiko, denn diese im Trend liegenden Investitionen lauten auf Euro (oder sind abgesichert) und nicht auf die lokale Währung des ausgebenden Landes. Dafür gibt es ein Kreditrisiko. Vor weniger als zehn Jahren konnte Argentinien beispielsweise seine Anleihen nicht bedienen und nur einen Bruchteil ihres Wertes zurückzahlen. In diesem Zusammenhang hat das Land gerade einen komplizierten Rechtsstreit beigelegt. Mit Venezuela könnte das nächste Land nun bald zahlungsunfähig sein. Aber auch wenn ein Land nicht ausfällt, kann der Preis seiner Anleihen schon erheblich fallen, wenn Investoren ängstlich sind. Dies ist vor ein paar Jahren zum Beispiel in Russland passiert, auch wenn die Preise später größtenteils den verlorenen Boden wieder gut machen konnten.

Batterien

Die Renaissance

„Die Fabrik ist die Maschine, die die Maschine baut”, sagt Elon Musk. Der CEO von Tesla Motors spricht über seine neue Gigafactory, eine riesige Batteriefabrik, die gerade in der Wüste von Nevada gebaut wird. Tesla hat lange Zeit Lithium-Ionen-Batterien aus Asien importiert. Um jedoch das Produktionsziel von 500.000 Autos im Jahr zu erreichen, müssen die Batterien in größerer Nähe zum eigenen Standort hergestellt werden. „Tesla benötigt für sich allein jetzt schon die weltweite Gesamtproduktion von Lithium-Ionen-Batterien,“ lässt das Unternehmen verlautbaren. Das griechische Wort „Giga“ für Milliarden spielt für Tesla in vielerlei Hinsicht eine Rolle. Dazu gehört auch die geplante Batterieproduktionskapazität von 35 Gigawattstunden in der Gigafactory.

Biotechnologie

Sieben Milliarden Medikamente

Die Biotechnologie wird bis 2020 und darüber hinaus der entscheidende Trend sein. Man sollte daher in einen Fonds investieren, der viele Unternehmen im Portfolio vereint, die im Hinblick auf die Schlüsseltechnologien bereits große Fortschritte erzielt haben.

Bleiben Sie informiert

 

Abonnieren Sie den kostenlosen Werthstein Brief